News‎ > ‎

JOIN US - Incinerator Demo - 11 Nov, Gloucester

posted 6 Nov 2015, 00:03 by planning users   [ updated 9 Nov 2015, 14:36 ]

Dear Supporter

Please come and join us at a Demonstration on Wednesday 11 Nov at 9:15 am outside Shire Hall, Gloucester City Centre. The County Council Cabinet will be meeting on that day. They are set to make a decision that will make it more difficult than ever to ditch the incinerator.

They are planning to hand over a further £17m of our taxpayer cash to UBB to pay for escalating construction costs. This would make it a total of over £30m given to UBB upfront to start the incinerator project, before a spade has even broken ground. Astounding, when we know it would be better if GCC cancelled the project right now and paid the undisclosed cancellation fee. We could then save £10 million per annum, over 25 years, by using a better and cheaper alternative such as R4C (which would also cost £135m less to build!).

Neither elected councillors, nor the public, have ever been shown the full costs of the incinerator, despite the Information Commissioner having ordered GCC to disclose the details last month. It is outrageous that this hasn't happened. Instead, GCC is appealing the decision, keeping the information hidden for as long as possible, and until after they make this further financial commitment on 11 Nov.

Please help make a difference -  come to the DEMO!

What else can you do.....?
--Email your county councillor..... Let's put as much pressure on theCabinet and Council as possible and make it clear that they are poised to make a thoroughly undemocratic and financially reckless decision.

Here's a list of all the councillors and their email addresses, ordered by their constituency. Alternatively you can look up contact details for them here on GCC's website. Please copy the leader of the council, Mark Hawthorne (mark.hawthorne@gloucestershire.gov.uk)

Hope to see you on Wed 11th - bring a banner!

Best Wishes
GlosVAIN

P.S. Don't forget, it's our AGM on Mon 9th November at 7:30pm at Quedgeley Community Centre.

Abbey (Andrew Gravells)                      andrew.gravells@gloucestershire.gov.uk
All Saints and Oakley (Colin Hay)            colin.hay@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Barnwood and Hucclecote (David Brown)        cllrdavid.brown@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Barton and Tredworth (Jasminder Gill)        jasminder.gill@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Battledown and Charlton Kings (Paul McLain)  paul.mclain@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Benhall and Up Hatherley (Simon Wheeler)     simon.wheeler@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Bishop's Cleeve (Robert Bird)                robert.bird@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Bisley and Painswick (Jason Bullingham)      jason.bullingham@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Blakeney and Bream (Richard Leppington)      richard.leppington@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Bourton-on-the-Water and
           Northleach (Paul Hodgkinson)      paul.hodgkinson@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Brockworth (Robert Vines)                    robert.vines@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Cam Valley (Brian Tipper)                    brian.tipper@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Campden-Vale (Lynden Stowe)                  lynden.stowe@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Charlton Park and College (Klara Sudbury)    klara.sudbury@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Churchdown (Bill Whelan)                     bill.whelan@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Cinderford (Graham Morgan)                   graham.morgan@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Cirencester Beeches (Nigel Robbins)          nigel.robbins@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Cirencester Park (Joe Harris)                joe.harris@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Coleford (Paul McMahon)                      paul.mcmahon@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Coney Hill and Matson (Stephen McHale)       steve.mchale@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Drybrook and Lydbrook (Colin Guyton)         colin.guyton@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Dursley (Stephen Lydon)                      stephen.lydon@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Fairford and
        Lechlade on Thames (Ray Theodoulou)  raymond.theodoulou@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Grange and Kingsway (Barry Kirby)            barry.kirby@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Hardwicke and Severn (Anthony Blackburn)     anthony.blackburn@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Hempsted and Westgate (Pam Tracey)           pam.tracey@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Hesters Way and
           Springbank (Suzanne Williams)     suzanne.williams@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Highnam (Phil Awford)                        phillip.awford@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Kingsholm and Wotton (Jeremy Hilton)         jeremy.hilton@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Lansdown and Park (Tim Harman)               tim.harman@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Leckhampton and Warden Hill (Iain Dobie)     iain.dobie@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Longlevens (Kathy Williams)                  kathy.williams@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Lydney (Alan Preest)                         alan.preest@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Minchinhampton (Stan Waddington)             stan.waddington@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Mitcheldean (Brian Robinson)                 brian.robinson@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Nailsworth (Dorcas Binns)                    dorcas.binns@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Newent (Will Windsor-Clive)                  will.windsor-clive@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Pittville and Prestbury (David Prince)       david.prince@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Quedgeley (Mark Hawthorne)                   mark.hawthorne@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Rodborough (Brian Oosthuysen)                brian.oosthuysen@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Sedbury (Patrick Molyneux)                   patrick.molyneux@gloucestershire.gov.uk
South Cerney (Shaun Parsons)                 shaun.parsons@gloucestershire.gov.uk
St Mark's and
          St Peter's (Christopher Coleman)   christopher.coleman@gloucestershire.gov.uk
St Paul's and Swindon (Bernard Fisher)       bernard.fisher@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Stonehouse (Lesley Williams)                 lesley.williams@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Stow-on-the-Wold (Nigel Moor)                nigel.moor@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Stroud Central (Sarah Lunnon)                sarah.lunnon@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Tetbury (Anthony Hicks)                      tony.hicks@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Tewkesbury (Mike Sztymiak)                   mike.sztymiak@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Tewkesbury East (Vernon smith)               vernon.smith@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Tuffley (Tracy Millard)                      tracy.millard@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Winchcombe and Woodmancote (Roger wilson)    roger.wilson@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Wotton-under-Edge (John cordwell)            john.cordwell@gloucestershire.gov.uk